What Is Hohoku 1000? 豊北1000って何?

I’ve almost been living in Hohoku town in Shimonoseki city for a year. Life in the Japanese countryside sure is different to being a student back in Leeds, and vastly different to my time as an exchange student in Kansai. Still, true to heart I’ve always preferred city life, but can still appreciate the wonder of nature.

Many of my friends go on adventures to famous places and come back with a suitcase full of pictures (seriously, a suitcase full of memory cards full of pictures) that remind me that if I want to see something famous I may as well just look at it online. I’ve previously blogged on my ineptitude when it comes to visiting tourist areas which explains my general lack of pictures when it comes to visits to Tokyo, Kyushu and so on. Why take a picture that’s been taken a million times before?

Aware that this in itself is an odd way to introduce my new photography blog, let me explain. As of 1st August 2012 I’ll have one year left on my contract. One year left in the Japanese countryside. One year left in Hohoku. Now it’s true that my contract could be extended, but let’s ignore that for a while. For the sake of this blog I have 1 year left.

Hohoku is not a particularly famous place, in fact probably the most famous area, Tsunoshima, has only just got an English Wikipedia page. But there are some really great areas here, worthy of a few more eyes.

So the challenge I’m setting myself is simple. Over the space of a year, I want to take (and upload here) 1000 pictures of Hohoku. The rules are also quite simple (I’ll probably add to these later).

  1. Pictures must not be taken before 1 August 2012.
  2. Pictures must be of Hohoku (they can be taken from outside of Hohoku, but must be of the Hohoku area).
  3. No pictures will be taken of people or houses without their (or their owner in terms of houses) permission (by this I mean as a main focus point, for the sake of people’s privacy).
  4. All pictures must be different. No taking a hundred pictures of the same tree (there are plenty of other trees).
  5. There must be at least 1000 pictures uploaded before 1 August 2013.

One comment on “What Is Hohoku 1000? 豊北1000って何?”

  1. That’s a really nice idea – subscribed! Hope you keep at it. がんばって! :3


Leave a Reply 返事しませんか